Images of Central Florida



image preview


St. Luke's Cemetery; Wood Church; First church building


A 2015 digital image shows the original "turpentine shack" church (restored to its original size and moved back to the cemetery property in the 1990s). This structure is now used for small funerals in the cemetery and is a treasured memento of the congregation's early history. But the little wood church does NOT sit on exactly the same site as it did until 1934 (when it was moved to the new church property and re-purposed for use as St. Luke's first schoolhouse). During the next 60 years, prior to the building's restoration, many graves had been placed on the land where it originally resided, so the structure was placed in a newer area of the cemetery land. An iconic photo, taken in 1934, shows the wood church on its original plot and also shows the first two gravesites placed in the cemetery (in 1933 and 1934). The 2015 digital image of the little church is taken from a different vantage point, but captures the lines and style of the original structure




Seminole County, Fla.

Number of Images

2 images

Side of Image

Front of Postcard


St. Luke's Lutheran Church and School; DSpace at St. Luke's

Repository Collection

E. Centennial era Year 2012-


DP0020043; MS46A_aai

Rights Statement

All rights to images are held by the respective holding institution. This image is posted publicly for non-profit educational uses, excluding printed publication. For permission to reproduce images and/or for copyright information contact St. Luke's Lutheran Church at 2021 W SR 426, Oviedo, FL 32765 or (407) 365-3408.

Digital Publisher

St. Luke's Lutheran Church, Oviedo, Fla.

Digital Reproduction Specifications

Jpeg2000 images were derived from previously scanned jpeg images.


St. Luke's Cemetery; Wood Church; First church building


Image Location