DIVerse Families
 
Red Butterfly

Title

Red Butterfly

Illustrator

Amy June Bates

Publisher

Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

Publication Year

2015

ISBN

9781481411097

Pages

392 pages

Genre

realism

Format

novel in verse

Item Type

Fiction

Annotation

A young orphaned girl in modern-day China discovers the meaning of family in this inspiring story told in verse, in the tradition of Inside Out and Back Again and Sold. Kara never met her birth mother. Abandoned as an infant, she was taken in by an American woman living in China. Now eleven, Kara spends most of her time in their apartment, wondering why she and Mama cannot leave the city of Tianjin and go live with Daddy in Montana. Mama tells Kara to be content with what she has -- but what if Kara secretly wants more? Told in lyrical, moving verse, Red Butterfly is the story of a girl learning to trust her own voice, discovering that love and family are limitless, and finding the wings she needs to reach new heights.

Grade Level

3-5, 6-8

Lexile Measure

830L

Topic

Family Relationships; Adoption; interracial adoption; legal guardianship

Main Character

girl

Race/Ethnicities

multiracial

Family Formation

adoption

Awards

Kirkus Book Review Stars, December 1,2014, Cybils Awards, 2015 Nominee United States, Kirkus Book Award, 2015 NOMINEE United States

Keywords

foundling; abnormalties; families

Diversity Impact

direct

Red Butterfly

Share

COinS