Sender

Margery Vosse

Year

1684

Sender Place

Radcliffe Bridge; Radcliffe, Lancashire, England

Receiver

Ralph Pemberton

Receiver Place

n.p.

Repository holding original letter

Historical Society of Pennsylvania

Full Date

1684-08-28

Document Type

Transcription

Country, State, Location 1

53.559338, -2.326155

Keywords

Margery Vosse, Radcliffe Bridge, Radcliffe Lancashire, Ralph Pemberton, John Haydock, Henry Haydock, John Mason, Richard Mather, Richard Siddall, Peter Colbourne, Susan Parr, Susannah Crompton, Thomas Tillsley, Quakers, Society of Friends

Abstract

Letter dated August 28, 1684 (August 18, 1684 Old Style) from Margery Vosse to Ralph Pemberton.

Transcription

[The following is written in Margery Vosse’s hand]

18 [de/ye?] [the] 6 month 1684

dear ould [old]

mester [master] Relph Pemberton [Ralph Pemberton] my dear love to you and to Phinehas [Phineas Pemberton] and

Phebe [Phebe Pemberton] Abegail [Abigail Pemberton] and Joseph [Joseph Pemberton] and to Jems Harison [James Harrison] and his wif [wife] and ould [old] An [Ann Harrison]

[and?] to lide [Lidea?] and my Dear love to Joseph Mether [Joseph Mather] and my love to all your

firnds [friends] I Desir [desire] to heer [hear] from you oft [often] it doth [does] delight my heart

as for your Dets [debts] I cen [can] but [get] [little] of them in which is sum [some]

Trobel [trouble] to mee [me] peopel [people] ere [are] so bad and teems [times] ere [are] so heard [hard]

I cenot [cannot] tel [tell] how to geet [get] any of them for if I could

I wold [would]

[The following is written in Richard Mather’s hand.]

I have not seen John ^Hadock^ [John Haydock] never since you went but I sent

by his Brother Henery [Henry Haydock] 16 shilling for goods in ye [the] [illegible--page torn]

and Nathaniell Atherton [Nathaniel Atherton] sent att [at] that same time [illegible--page torn]

which he Recd [received] of John Mason for Phineass [Phineas Pemberton] & [and] gave

it to Henery Hadock [Henry Haydock] & [and] he promised to give it to his

Brother and my master Says he will pay for halfe [half]

a [holpe?] [helping?] of meall [meal] and 3 [werkes/weekes?] [partially illegible—page tear] table [work tables?/weeks?] and old [England?] […] [illegible, from [England?] to remainder of line—page tear]

[m...] [illegible, 2 words—page tear] to you [...] William Walker [in...ele?] man [remember/Richard Mather?]

his [kind] love to you & [and] Robert Linsley & [and] Richard Siddall

and Richard Mather Junior Remembrs [remembers] his kind love to you

& [and] to his Brother Joseph [Joseph Mather] and as for ye [the] Shop I think I have

as good costom [custom] for ye [the] goods [ith] [with?] Shop as I we had when you

were hear [here] for this year is more then [than] it was last year I

Shall Return very near as much as you & [and] I was weent [wont/want?] to doe [do]

Petter Colbourn [Peter Colbourne] has left this house to his Brother James [James’]

[little Sonn/Littleson?] [James’ son/James Littleson?] & [and] new houses [house] to Herry son [Harrison/Harry's son?] and Shusan Parr [Susan Parr] is dead

Shusanah Crompton [Susannah Crompton] was and old Richard Walker & [and] his

wife Remembers there [their] dere [dear] love to you and Rich [Richard Walker] says he

cold [could] be glad to see you att [at] Ratclife Bridg [Radcliffe Bridge] againe [again] and

Thomas Tildsley [Thomas Tinsley] I think goes not on soe [so] as he did att [at]

first [See?] [sight/sea?] with my dere [dear] love to you ^I^ Remaine [remain]

yor [your] ffaithfull [Faithful] Sarvent [servent]

Margery Vosse

fform [From] Ratclife

Bridg [Radcliffe Bridge] 1684

[page 2]

[The following is written in a more modern hand, in the bottom right corner, oriented along the right margin.]

Margery Vosse

Radcliffe Bridge

6mo. [6th month] 18 1684

HSP DAMS ID

15926

Language

english

Type

article

Share

COinS
 
 

To view the content in your browser, please download Adobe Reader or, alternately,
you may Download the file to your hard drive.

NOTE: The latest versions of Adobe Reader do not support viewing PDF files within Firefox on Mac OS and if you are using a modern (Intel) Mac, there is no official plugin for viewing PDF files within the browser window.