Marzano, Robert J., Designing a New Taxonomy of Educational Objectives. Thousand Oaks, CA: Corwin Press, 2001.


Presents a taxonomy of six levels--retrieval, comprehension, analysis, knowledge utilization (these four making up the cognitive system), the metacognitive system, and the self-system; all are related to three domains of knowledge--information (details, organizing ideas), mental procedures (skills and processes), psychomotor procedures (skills and processes); illustrates three applications of the taxonomy-- to design educational objectives, to design spiral curriculum, and to design assessments.

Broad Topical Focus

Curriculum Development, Organization, Design

Source Discipline


Mode of Inquiry in the Study

Philosophical Inquiry-Speculative Essay

Type of Study

Single Study

Narrow Topic

Curriculum Aims and Objectives


Printing CIRS:

To print the citation, use CTRL-P for PC or ⌘ P for Mac