Year

1677

Sender Place

London, England

Receiver

Ann Harrison

Receiver Place

[Bolton, Lancashire, England]

Repository holding original letter

Historical Society of Pennsylvania

Full Date

1677-06-22

Document Type

Transcription

Country, State, Location 1

51.507351, -0.127758

Country, State, Location 2

53.577694, -2.428887

Keywords

James Harrison, London, Ann Harrison, Bolton, Cuthbert Haydock, Roger Longworth, Phineas Pemberton, Phebe Pemberton, Thomas Bond, Arthur Cooke, Margery Longworth, Quakers, Society of Friends, social network, business, business network

Abstract

Letter dated June 22, 1677 (June 12, 1677 Old Style) from James Harrison to his wife, Ann Harrison, primarily concerning business matters. These matters include a debt book and the accounts of Harrison's customers and/or business partners.

Transcription

London 12 of 4 mo: [month] 77 [1677]

A: H: [Ann Harrison]

deare [dear] & [and] loveing [loving] wife in ye [the] puer [pure] Love of god doe [do] I darely [dearly] sallute [salute] thee [you] hope [page torn: illegible]

thou art [you are] well as alsoe [also] P[:]P [Phineas Pemberton] my mother [Agnes Harrison] Lidea H & [and] the rest, I am pretty [page torn: illegible]

only somthing [something] gript [gripped] in my Bondes [bonds] we have had severall [several] meetings [page torn: whe…]

gods [God’s] pure heavenly presence was with us this day we had one where [page torn]

signed a paper against two Johns & [and] yt [that] spirrit [spirit] [ink blotch] in whomesoever [whomsoever] it is with

fallowfield [William Fallowfield] Cuthbrett Hayerst [Cuthbert Hearst] R: L [Roger Longworth?] remembers theire [their] Love to thee [you]

2 pps & [and] ye [the] rest deare [dear] Heart I desire thee [you] to Look in ye [the] hinder end [back] of

ye [the] debt book & [and] see there for ye [the] Collections is one for ye [the] Lowere [lower] end of

the County the other is from the north end Recd [received] by Thomas Bon or

thou [you] may see it in ye [the] Pchment [parchment] Couered [covered] Book as I think it is placed to

the account of Arthur Kouk [Arthur Cooke] it is 4[L] 17s od pence [4 pounds 17 shillings odd pence] as I remember

but I am not sure, send me it P [per?] first yt [that] I may order my busenes [business]

& [and] soe [so] return, thou [you] may have recd [received] mine wherein I ordred [ordered] the [thee] [you] to send

those goods of Margery Longworth doe [do] it with what expedition thou [you]

can, soe [so] with deare [dear] Love to thee [you] as before, & [and] to all friends I rest

thy [your] Loveing [loving] Husband

Ja: Harison [James Harrison]

Hester whited [Hester Whitehead?] & [and] Ben: [Benjamin Whitehead] Lovee [love] is to thee [you]

soe [so] doeth [does] John Abraham

[page 2]

James Harrison

4 mo 12 1677

to

Anne Harrison [Ann Harrison]

Boulton [Bolton, Lancashire]

HSP DAMS ID

15781

Language

english

Type

article

Share

COinS
 
 

To view the content in your browser, please download Adobe Reader or, alternately,
you may Download the file to your hard drive.

NOTE: The latest versions of Adobe Reader do not support viewing PDF files within Firefox on Mac OS and if you are using a modern (Intel) Mac, there is no official plugin for viewing PDF files within the browser window.