Welcome to The Pegasus Review: UCF Undergraduate Research Journal! The URJ is a peer-reviewed journal featuring the work of University of Central Florida undergraduate researchers from all disciplines. Founded in 2007, the URJ has published over 100 articles written by UCF undergraduate students. All undergraduates participating in faculty-mentored research projects are invited to submit their work to be considered for publication.

UCF Libraries Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Research

The University of Central Florida Libraries founded the Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Research in 2008 to celebrate the most outstanding article published in the Pegasus Review each year. Articles are assessed by a team of judges that includes past Pegasus Review editors, librarians, and other faculty members. Each annual winner receives a $250 stipend, which is announced during the award ceremony at the end of Research Week in March. Winning articles are highlighted in UCF’s Showcase of Text, Archives, Research & Scholarship (STARS) and a copy is sent to President Cartwright.

If you have contributed a poster to the Showcase of Undergraduate Research Excellence, or if you have conducted a research study you are proud of, consider turning your poster or project into an article and submitting it to the Pegasus Review for publication.

To view our previously published work, you can browse our archives here.

To learn more about the submission process, view our submission guidelines here.

To submit your work, fill out our online submission form.

Most Recent Archived Issue: Volume 15, Issue 1



Determining the Extent of Pioneer Mangrove Acidification on Intertidal Oyster Reefs
Cindy Whitten, Andres Alatorre, Nicole Campbell, Savanna Freeman, Sydney Henderson, Kate McLendon, Connor Wright, June Davison, Madison Ganci, and Katherine Harris


Microplastics, Macro-Problems: Abundance of Man-Made Materials in the Waters and Sediments of Florida State Parks
Luciana M. Banquero, Kate McLendon, Andres Alatorre, Mackenzie Daniels, Savanna Freeman, Cassidy Starke, Katherine Harris, and Sidney J. Busch